The program will feature masterpieces by some of the greatest Romantic composers, including Robert Schumann’s Piano Quartet in E flat and the Brahms Clarinet Quintet. Full of soulful, soaring and, exuberant melodies, punctuated by energetic rhythms and sparkling staccato flashes, Schumann’s Quartet is a lush, romantic, impassioned work that is fully committed to the expression of the composer’s most intimate thoughts and feelings. “Monumental” is the word most often used by critics and music historians to describe the Clarinet Quintet of Johannes Brahms. This tour de force for the clarinet and strings is filled with joy, rapture, fantasy and deeply poignant expressions of love and autumnal melancholy. It is not to be missed in live performance. The concert will open with the Festmarsche in D of Richard Strauss, a spirited march for piano and strings by the renowned composer of Zarathustra, Ein Heldenleben and Der Rosenkavalier.

Feb 17, 2018

3:00 PM

Sugar Hill Meeting House
Sugar Hill, NH

Feb 18, 2018

3:00 pm

Court Street Arts at Alumni Hall
Haverhill, NH